Guide
Minnows or anchovies: two small freeze-dried fish
Updated
Freeze dried minnows vs anchovies is a comparison of two small whole fish, each a single ingredient, each in a 2 ounce bag, each listed for dogs and cats. The minnow is the whole marble goby, and the anchovy is Stolephorus chinensis. Minnows are sold out right now, so the anchovies are the one to look at.
What is the difference between freeze-dried minnows and anchovies?
On paper, less than you might think. Both are whole fish. Each is freeze-dried raw, made in Malvern, Pennsylvania from imported fish. Each is one ingredient, and both listings name dogs and cats.
The differences are in the details the listings choose to print. The minnow listing names the fish, calls it the only ingredient, and says it is whole, not filleted, ground or pressed. The anchovy listing names its species, says no grains, fillers or dyes go in, and describes a strong natural fish smell. The minnow listing adds that there are no additives or preservatives.
We cannot tell you that one is smaller, crunchier or better liked. The listings do not compare them, and neither do we. Our scorecard, which is our own rating and not a fact about your pet, gives both a crunch of 4 of 5 and a training score of 3 of 5.
Which species is in each bag?
The minnow bag holds the marble goby, Oxyeleotris marmorata. That is the species the minnow listing names. The anchovy bag holds Stolephorus chinensis. That is the species the anchovy listing names.
We will not go into taxonomy, and we will not explain why the goby is sold as a minnow. The listing names the species, so that is what we report. The minnow page carries the listing itself.
Size varies in both bags. The minnow listing mentions a mix of bigger and smaller fish, lighter and darker. The anchovy listing adds shape to the list of things that differ from fish to fish. That is as specific as either gets, and neither gives fish lengths or piece counts.
What do the minnow listing and the anchovy label give you?
Here is the side by side. The anchovy numbers are printed on the package label. The minnow column shows what the minnow listing gives, which for some rows is nothing.
| Minnows | Anchovies | |
|---|---|---|
| Species named | Oxyeleotris marmorata | Stolephorus chinensis |
| Ingredient wording | Whole marble goby, the only ingredient | Anchovies only |
| Bag size | 2 ounce, resealable | 2 ounce |
| Guaranteed analysis | Not stated on the listing | Crude protein min 67%, crude fat min 5%, crude fiber max 6%, moisture max 11% |
| Energy | Not stated on the listing | 2,930 kcal ME/kg, about 83.1 kcal per ounce |
| Our scorecard | Crunch 4 of 5, training 3 of 5 | Crunch 4 of 5, training 3 of 5 |
The gap in the middle matters if you are counting. The minnow listing gives no guaranteed analysis and no calorie figure, so you cannot turn a dog's treat budget into ounces of minnows from what we publish. With anchovies you can, and the anchovy page has a calculator that does it.
Serving is close to a match. The minnow listing says to serve them whole or crumbled over food as a topper. The anchovy listing gives two uses, pieces for rewards and a topper. Both say treat, not a complete diet, and both ask for supervision.
Which suits a cat, and which suits a dog?
Both listings name both. The minnow listing says adult dogs of all sizes, with one bag for dogs and cats. The anchovy listing gives the same dog fit and adds that cats can have the anchovies.
For dogs, the calculator on the anchovy page applies a default of 10 percent of the day's calories, and the sardine page credits that figure to VCA's treat guidance. It is a dog setting. It is not printed on either bag.
For cats we stay conservative. We give no cat numbers, and a cat's share is the cat's veterinarian's call. If your cat is on a special diet, or has had trouble with seafood before, ask first. The anchovy listing says to ask your veterinarian if your dog has a seafood history, and the same instinct holds for a cat.
Since both are freeze-dried raw, wash your hands afterward. The sardine heads listing says it this way: "This is raw fish, so wash your hands after handling it." Think of it as the shop rag rule: you wipe up after the job, not before the next one.
What can you try while the minnows are sold out?
The minnow button reads "Sold out, back soon", and we give no date. We do not take orders ahead, so there is nothing to place in the meantime.
The anchovies are another small whole fish, with a bag of the same size. If you have been buying minnows for a dog or a cat, they are a reasonable one to try alongside your regular routine, as long as your vet is fine with fish for your pet. They are a different fish with a strong natural smell, so do not expect a copy.
If you want a wider view, the freeze-dried minnows vs sardines guide puts the minnow next to the sardine, and the guides hub covers every fish we make.
Questions
Are minnows and anchovies the same kind of fish?
No. The minnow listing names the marble goby, Oxyeleotris marmorata, and the anchovy listing names Stolephorus chinensis. Those are two different species. We do not go further into how they are related.
Do both come with bones?
Both are sold as whole fish, and we make no bone claim of our own for either. Neither listing discusses bones. Supervise your pet, size the piece to the animal, and ask your veterinarian about fish bones.
Do anchovies give a calorie figure the minnows do not?
Yes. The anchovy label prints 2,930 kcal ME/kg, about 83.1 kcal per ounce. The minnow listing gives no calorie figure and no guaranteed analysis, so we cannot give you one for minnows.
My cat liked the minnows. Can it have anchovies?
The anchovy listing says cats can have them. We cannot say your cat will take to them, and we give no cat amounts. Your cat's veterinarian sets the share, especially for a cat on a special diet.
Will the minnows come back?
The button says "Sold out, back soon", and that is all we know. We give no date, and we do not take orders ahead. Check the minnow page when you want to see where things stand.